Well, due to some technical difficulties with one of my group members, I offered to use the "big guns" to convert and upload our other interview on YouTube.

Now, as we've decided to do a 10-minute documentary, I'm going through this other interview and finding some (from a purely technical standpoint) issues. The worst of the worst, though I somewhat expected it, is the horrible video quality. This is the interview we recorded via Skype, so the audio/video sync is way off on top of the poor video quality...which means, if I want to keep my sanity, the audio is the only bit worth using in the documentary. Even that has its own challenges; this interview has a much more back-and-forth conversational feel to it than our other one, which means there are fewer uninterrupted, clean sections of audio. The sound track is peppered with the interviewer's laughs, add-ins, and (if I'm not mistaken) clinks of silverware. I also noticed the interviewer adding many specifics to her questions, sometimes leaving less room for the narrator to expound on her answers...again, not ideal for an edited video.

I'll work around this stuff to the best of my ability, but if you even think you might use something for a video later and you don't want your voice in it, you have to keep the interjections and background noises to a minimum.

Side note: process-wise, not that I'm trying to throw anyone under the bus or anything, but I'm wondering if we should have at least had another person with the group member interviewing her mother. Because mother and daughter share a lot of the same values and ideals, it makes sense that there wasn't as much digging and explanation behind some of the narrator's points as I'd have liked for this project.



Leave a Reply.