Well, the prof made a big telling the other day of how this (ulcer-inducing) Oral History project is all about the process. Here's what I say to the process: "I haven't felt like cursing this badly since Spain."

The process can go jump off a cliff for all I care. In fact, I'll help it along with a nice, healthy shove.

At this point, few and disinterested readers, you are probably wondering, what finally sent the half-crazy girl over the edge? I'll tell you.

Digital camera file conversions.

Seriously, it would have been less trouble for me to transcribe the interview onsite instead. Okay, yes, that's an exaggeration, and truth be told, this isn't really that bad, especially compared to that incident in my high school media class where I was scrambling, trying to get the stupid files and computers to cooperate for an entire hour, to get our stuff ready for the school's live morning announcements show. Yeah, that was rough.

So, in comparison, this is not that horrible, but still, come on! I know it would take up more memory, but why can't digital cameras all work off one commonly used file format? Why does there have to be a special extension and a special software to convert it into usable video for every single stinkin' one?

20 minutes, and it's barely halfway done. Yeah.

Et tu, iMovie?

Update: I take it back. This is the devil's file, and I will personally ensure it suffers a slow, painful death as soon as this class is over.



Leave a Reply.